Meet The Maker





BACKGROUND

Hello! I was born and raised in Vancouver, BC. About 15 years ago I met (and fell in love with) an Alberta farm boy who relocated to BC when he was a teenager. In January of 2019, he had a series of tonic-clonic seizures which gave him significant brain damage. Since then, he has had subsequent ongoing absent, complex partial, and tonic-clonic seizures that continue to this day (he's on a waitlist for brain surgery). Suddenly we found ourselves in the situation of myself being the only income earner in our household, while he copes with brain injuries from his ongoing seizures. We made the difficult decision to move to Rural Beaver County, Alberta, to be near his father, step-mother, the farm, and a location where I was able to purchase a house and some land. I always craved stability, but I was never going to be able to afford a house in the Lower Mainland; especially once we were suddenly a 1 income household.

We now live in a great little community that allows him to have a hospital and family doctor 2 blocks away, and the help from my in-laws. Together with my mother in law we devised a plan for all of the excess goat's milk from the farm. This allows me to be creative and pay my bills. I also get to milk the girls, and they give kisses.

Moving out here has changed so much in our lives for the better. Every day is a challenge with my husband's condition; he sleeps for about 16-20 hours per day, but when he's awake he's supportive, encouraging, and kind. I am so lucky to have him as my partner.

Somehow, after only starting this business in 2020, I have been able to make a living and support my household. I thank all of my amazing customers (some have even turned into friends) for your continued support. This little business has saved our lives, and we are forever grateful for the community around us. It still feels surreal that this is what I'm lucky enough to do full-time; being creative for a living is extremely fulfilling.
I believe in using the best ingredients, and I am not a fan of artificial colourants when we have botanicals and clays that can be used. This is a philosophy that I utilize in a lot of my life; natural fibres, food made from scratch, and natural materials within my house wherever possible.

BITS AND BOBS
In my spare time I like to dye yarn, knit, crochet, paint, cook, garden, play with my 2 dogs and 2 cats, travel around the world (at least, I did before the seizures and Covid), and doing projects around the house. Occasionally I find some Prairie Giants, those photos are on my Instagram in my story highlights.

I am a ska/punk/reggae/dancehall kid at heart, with a serious love affair with 90's rock, hillbilly, storytelling rap, and Dolly Parton. I like going to karaoke nights, but I can't participate due to a traumatic incident in the late 2000's where a friend and myself were booed off stage during our Fresh Prince of Bel Air theme song performance.